Board of Directors 2011-12

The board of directors of the Greater South Loop Association received nominating petitions for the board of directors and held an annual election on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at the DayStar Center located at 1550 S. State Street.

Deb Soehlig served 2 years as President and plans to continue to support the board in a director role.  Gail Rutkowski, former vice-president who succeeded to president per the group’s by-laws, said, “The GSLA has gained a great deal of momentum and success in the South Loop due in large part to Deb’s dedication and love of the South Loop community.  We are thrilled that she will continue to serve on the board to foster our relationships with aldermanic and business leaders.”  Gail also shared her 2011-12 goals with the new board.  “Our mission of ‘bringing neighbors together’ will be supported by continuing to focus on growing membership and neighborhood events.”

  • Officers were elected to the board as follows: Jeanette Johnson as vice-president, Bill Van Emburg as treasurer and a yet to be appointed secretary.
  •  South Loop residents and business owners were newly elected to the board including: Blagica Bottigliero, Molly Heyen, Margaret Hicks, Virgil Nita, and T.J. Sagen.  Other directors returning to the board are: Norma Jordan, Jeff Key, and Deb Soehlig.
  • Special thanks to Bob Wilson who recently served as Treasurer and also lent his technology skills in implementing our new website.  Additionally, Mark Stern and Eric Westberg are thanked for their time as directors and Mark’s support from his business, Weather Mark Tavern.  Another round of thanks goes to Joe Leamanczyk who created a strong tie with Columbia and began studies at the Art Institute.